Program Committee Members

The Program Committee consists of representatives from the four units that contribute to the MPP Core Curriculum: Economics, Political Science, Sociology and the School of Public Administration.  The committee oversees the MPP and its members serve as advisors to MPP students.  One committee member serves as the MPP director.

Photo: Melissa

Melissa Binder

Director of the MPP and Associate Professor of Economics

Melissa Binder has been a professor in the Department of Economics at the University of New Mexico since 1995 and the Director of the MPP since its inception in 2017. Her research and policy interests include labor market and educational equity, and among her publications are analyses of the motherhood wage gap, gender equity in faculty pay, and the socio-economic achievement gap in higher education. Dr. Binder founded and now directs the UNM Evaluation Lab, the goal of which is to train community evaluators and spread evaluation capacity to nonprofits throughout New Mexico.
Photo: Timothy

Timothy Krebs

Department Chair and Professor of Political Science

Professor Timothy Krebs teaches courses in American politics with a specialization in urban politics, public policy, and campaigns and elections. His research focuses on urban elections and campaigns and urban policy. In addition to teaching and research, Professor Krebs serves as department chair. Prior to UNM, he taught at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Illinois Wesleyan University.
Photo: Bruce

Bruce Perlman

Regents' Professor and Director, School of Public Administration

Professor Perlman specializes in public management, organizational behavior, and institutional reform, focusing on policy, technology, and information systems.
Photo: Assata

Assata Zerai

Vice President for Equity and Inclusion and Professor of Sociology

Dr. Assata Zerai serves as the Vice President for Equity and Inclusion and Professor of Sociology at the University of New Mexico. Zerai’s research interests include African women’s access to mobile technology, making the work of African women scholars more accessible, multiculturalism in U.S. Protestant congregations, and environmental justice/health access and activism in the U.S., Nigeria, and the regions of East Africa, and Southern Africa. She has published five books spanning these topics, the latest of which is African Women, ICT and Neoliberal Politics: The Challenge of Gendered Digital Divides to People-Centered Governance (Routledge 2019).